The Student News Site of Buena Vista University

The Tack Online

The Student News Site of Buena Vista University

The Tack Online

The Student News Site of Buena Vista University

The Tack Online

Search The Tack
Imposter Syndrome
September 18, 2023
Senior Defensive Back Ernest Jones (#1) celebrates a successful tackle.
BVU Football Nonconference vs. Gustavus & Lakeland
September 18, 2023
Dr. Heather Black (left); Dr. Jamii Claiborne (right)
Dr. Heather Black Leaves BV Mid-September; Dr. Jamii Claiborne New VP of Student Success
September 15, 2023
Legislation Without Representation
September 14, 2023

Several student-athletes honored at All-Sports Banquet


Kelsey Ackerman | Sports Co-Editor

On Sunday, May 3, several student athletes gathered in Dows for the third annual All-Sports banquet. At the banquet, all the teams were recognized for their achievements this year. Also, several awards were given out to coaches, teams, and individual athletes.

This year’s award winners include:

Best Team GPA- Women’s Golf
Service Award- Wrestling
Best Coaching Staff award- Volleyball
Community All-Star award- Sgt. Allan Rieb
Student Athletic Trainer of the Year- Corey Hannula
Iron Man Award- Kyle Weeden (tennis)
Iron Woman Award- Katie Larsen (track and field)
All-Beaver Team- Jade Schaap (volleyball), Maggie Marker (track and field), Sam Richards (soccer), Stephanie Hayden (softball), Shelby Wiederhoeft (basketball), Kennedy Drey (basketball), Steve Gutschenritter (soccer and wrestling), Nashid Barrow (wrestling), Adam Cave (football), and Seth Woodson (track and field)
Breakthrough award- Steve Gutschenritter (soccer and wrestling)
Sportsmanship Award- Shelby Wiederhoeft (basketball) and Ian Grigsby (baseball)
Spirit Award- Erica Ollendieck (basketball) and Greg Sibenaller (basketball)
Newcomer of the Year- Jade Schaap (volleyball) and Nashid Barrow (wrestling)
Harriet Henry Senior Female Athlete of the Year- Stephanie Hayden (softball)
Senior Male Athlete of the Year- Cole Darrow (basketball)
E. Wayne Cooley Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year- Maddie Bardole (volleyball)
Outstanding Male Athlete of the Year- Bobby Brown (football)

Becca Pennington (President of S.A.A.C) and Seth Woodson (track and field athlete) were also called up for extra recognition.

Rounding up the recognition were Coach Riche (track and field) and Coach Studelska (soccer) as well as Amy Santanucci (administrative assistant) and Steven Phelps (sports information director).

Athletic Director then rounded up the banquet by thanking all the student athletes coaches for everything they do.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All The Tack Online Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *