Voting at BVU or in Storm Lake? Here’s info on candidates down ballot



Samantha Hirschman | Marketing and Events Manager

Buena Vista University students can cast their votes in the 2016 election this week on campus. BVU will have a satellite voting station this Thursday, Oct. 13 in the Science Center from 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. While there is plenty of hype surrounding the nations’ current presidential election, students may not realize that the ballot will also contain elections for numerous other levels of government. Whether voting in Buena Vista County on Thursday or on Election Day on Nov. 8, students will have the opportunity to vote in those “down ballot” elections as well.

Below, you can find information on other state and county elections. Click on any linked names to learn more about the candidate and to be better educated when you walk into the polls.



U.S. Senator

Democrat Patty Judge

Republican Charles E Grassley (incumbent)

Libertarian Chuck Aldrich

Independent Michael Luick-Thrams

New Independent Party Jim Hennager


U.S. House of Representatives, District 4

Democrat Kim Weaver

Republican  Steve King (incumbent)



State Senator District 6

Republican Mark Segebart (incumbent)

Libertarian Nick Serianni


State Representative District 11

Democrat Sara Huddleston

Republican Gary Worthan (incumbent)



Four county officials will be running unopposed in this election.

County Supervisor District 4 – Republican Rhonda Ringgenberg

County Supervisor District 5 – Democratic Donald Lee Altena

County Sheriff – Republican Kory Elston.

County Auditor – Republican Susan Kennedy Lloyd



Several judges are running for retention in this election at the state and county levels.

Iowa Supreme Court

Brett Appel, Mark Cady

Daryl Hecht


Iowa Court of Appeals

David R. Danilson

Richard Doyle

Amanda Potterfield,

Gayle Vogel


Iowa District 3A – Associate Judge

Charles K. Borth

Ann M Gales

David C Larson


Iowa District 3A – Associate Juvenile Judge

Mary L. McCollum Timko